Reauthorizing an OAuth Account

Open Authorization (OAuth) is a standard protocol used to authorize a connecting application’s requests to access user accounts and their data. Hevo components such as Sources and Destinations in Pipelines and Warehouses and Targets in Activate use OAuth to handle user authorization.

Note: Google BigQuery connected to using user accounts is the only Warehouse or Destination using OAuth.

You need to reauthorize the Hevo user connecting to the Source, Destination, Warehouse, or Target whenever there is a change in the account, the Pipeline, or the Activation configuration. Some possible scenarios where reauthorization may be required include:

  • The account password was reset.

  • The access of the user was modified.

  • A new account was linked to the components of the Pipeline or the Activation.

  • Email ID linked to the account was changed.

  • The authenticated user linked to the account was removed.

  • The OAuth access token has expired or changed.

Without account reauthorization, the Pipeline or Activation will fail.

Read through the following sections for the details to reauthorize accounts of the different components.


Source Account Reauthorization

To reauthorize the Source account:

  1. In the Pipelines Detailed View, click the Gear icon next to the Source name.

  2. Click Reauthorise Account.

    Source Account Reauthorization

Post-account reauthorization, the Pipeline resumes from the last ingestion position.


Destination Account Reauthorization

Account reauthorization only applies to Google BigQuery Destinations connected using user accounts.

You can reauthorize a Destination account from one of these pages:

  • The Destinations Detailed View:

    Destinations Detailed View - Account Reauth

    To reauthorize the Destination account, do one of the following:

    • Hover on the Gear icon next to the Destination name and click Reauthorise Account in the hover window.

    • Click on the kebab menu on the right and click Reauthorize in the drop-down.

  • The Pipelines Detailed View:

    From Pipeline - Destination Account Reauth

    1. Click anywhere in the Pipeline Summary row in the list view to open the Pipeline in the detailed view.

    2. Hover on the Gear icon next to the Destination name.

    3. Click Reauthorise Account in the hover window.


Warehouse Account Reauthorization

Account reauthorization only applies to Google BigQuery Destinations connected using user accounts.

You can reauthorize a Warehouse account while:

  • Creating an Activation:

    Creating Activation - Warehouse Reauth

    1. In the Select the Data to Synchronize page, hover on the Gear icon next to the Warehouse name.

    2. Click Reauthorize Account in the hover window.

  • Modifying an Activation:

    Modifying Activation - Warehouse Reauth

    1. Click anywhere in the Activations Summary row in the list view to open the Activation in the detailed view.

    2. In the QUERY sub-tab, hover on the Gear icon next to the Warehouse name.

    3. Click Reauthorize Account in the hover window.


Target Account Reauthorization

You can reauthorize a Target account in the Targets Detailed View and while creating or modifying an Activation.

  • In the Targets Detailed View:

    Targets Detailed View - Target Reauth

    1. Click anywhere in the Targets Summary row in the list view to open the Target in the detailed view.

    2. Hover on the Gear icon next to the Target name.

    3. Click Reauthorize Account in the hover window.

  • While creating an Activation, if the user account credentials have been modified or the OAuth access token has changed or expired, you must reauthorize the account.

    • When the user configuration has changed:

      Create Activation - Target Reauth

      1. Hover on the Gear icon next to the Target name.

      2. Click Reauthorize Account in the hover window.

    • When the Target account’s OAuth token has expired or changed:

      1. Do one of the following:

        • Click REAUTHORIZE in the error displayed in the Select Data to Synchronize page.

          CreateActivation - Target Reauth Error

        • Click TEST & MAP FIELDS and click REAUTHORIZE in the Field Mapping page.

          Field Mapping - Target Reauth

      2. Click YES, I AM SURE to reauthorize the Target account.

        Confirm Target Reauth

  • Modifying an Activation:

    ModifyingActivation - Target Reauth

    1. Click anywhere in the Activations Summary row in the list view to open the Activation in the detailed view.

    2. In the QUERY sub-tab, hover on the Gear icon next to the Target name.

    3. Click Reauthorize Account in the hover window.



Revision History

Refer to the following table for the list of key updates made to this page:

Date Release Description of Change
Dec-20-2021 1.78 Updated section, Destination Account Reauthorization to:
- Change the screenshot.
- Add information about reauthorization from the kebab menu.
Dec-06-2021 1.77 New document.
Last updated on 22 Mar 2022